Martindale Awards

Distinguished: An excellent rating for a lawyer with some experience. This rating indicates the attorney is widely respected by their peers for high professional achievement and ethical standards.

Martindale Ratings

Average Peer Rating

3.7/5.0

Average Client Rating

100% client recommended

Reviews (38)

Site Rating Reviews by date
4.6 / 5.0
2012-04-30 11:11:51

No description provided

— Peer 04/30/2012

4.0 / 5.0
2012-04-30 08:41:34

No description provided

— Peer 04/30/2012

4.0 / 5.0
2011-08-14 00:01:54

No description provided

— Peer 08/14/2011

3.8 / 5.0
2014-05-28 08:57:51

No description provided

— Peer 05/28/2014

3.6 / 5.0
2011-08-03 06:44:06

No description provided

— Peer 08/03/2011

5.0 / 5.0
2010-01-27

Mr. Yarwood saw me as a person not as a pay check. The level of service I received was outstanding. Mr. Yarwood operates with a level of precision and efficiency that is truly astounding. This is a man who in no uncertain terms loves his job and his level of enthusiasm and determination clearly display that fact. I was found not guilty and I owe it all to Mr. Yarwood a truly brilliant man who helped me though the most trying and stressful time in my life.

— Client 01/27/2010

5.0 / 5.0
2008-05-09

I was highly impressed with the experience I had with Ron Yarwood. From the start, it was clear that his priorities were the same as mine for my case. I was worried because I had never been in any legal situation, but from the day I called, he began working for me. He met with me that day and explained everything. He was completely forthright, telling me his plan from top to bottom and what I should expect. He held to that plan, and everything worked out exactly like he said it would, including the timeframe. Every time I e-mailed or called him, he responded on the same day, which is far more than I can say for the lawyers my acquaintances hired in the past. With all the fear and problems I faced surrounding my case, he did an exceptional job of alleviating my anxiety. Ron Yarwood is a trustworthy, hard working, brilliant lawyer, and I have him to thank for my legal problems being history. You will too.

— Client 05/09/2008

5.0 / 5.0
2008-06-11

Turned a seemingly unwinnable case into a great settlement! His client-lawyer relationship is amazing.

— Client 06/11/2008

5.0 / 5.0
2008-06-17

Atty. Yarwood exemplifies all that is good in the legal field.  He was extremely helpful and considerate of my situation, time and effort that I put into the situation he handled for me.  He was very supportive through out the entire case.  Although the area involved was not his forte, he made sure he was current with all information that was necessary.  I will and have recommended him to friends and family and will continue to consider him as my attorney of choice.

— Client 06/17/2008

5.0 / 5.0
2008-09-08

Mr. Yarwood Satisfied every need I had in my case and acheived more than i could ask for in a sentance/deal for me.

— Client 09/08/2008

5.0 / 5.0
2010-01-28

Mr. Yarwood saw me as a person not as a pay check. The level of service I received was outstanding. Mr. Yarwood operates with a level of precision and efficiency that is truly astounding. This is a man who in no uncertain terms loves his job and his level of enthusiasm and determination clearly display that fact. The case presented against me was very tricky and it provided many difficult problems that needed to be met. After much strategizing and deliberation a scenario was presented to me by Mr.Yarwood on how he thought the trial would play out, and much to my disbelief the trial unfolded exactly as he said it would. I was found not guilty and I owe it all to Mr. Yarwood a truly brilliant man who helped me though the most trying and stressful time in my life.

— Client 01/28/2010

5.0 / 5.0
2011-05-23

Name: Ronald Yarwood. He is just like everyone else -- but when it comes to his job, he knows how to do it, and does it well.

— Client 05/23/2011

5.0 / 5.0
2012-06-21

Mr. Yarwood was very professional and trustworthy. In the courtroom he was very much respected by peers and clients. I would hire him again with no reservation.

— Client 06/21/2012

5.0 / 5.0
2013-02-08

He's a very carring and genuine proffesional. I had retained Ron Yarwood after first hiring a worthless attorney from Painesville Ohio, who turned out being in bed with the City Officials who charged me with numerous bogus charges., The Attorney from Painesville who threw me under the bus really ripped me off bad, so with barely any money left Ron Yarwood came through for me, I realized I had came across a true blessing from god when Ron had called me wanting to discuss my case and said he'd meet me at my house. I got to cooking some white rice, beans and baked some chicken, when the door bell rang there he stood at my front door I invited him in and we discussed the case as we ate. The whole time i was thinking this is a trully a good hearted man like myself that wants to really make a difference and help me...just when i had given up hope on finding an attorney i could trust...from the bottom of my heart thank you Ron yarwood and keep on making a difference I can trully tell everyone your genuine and I'm sure others will notice too.

— Client 02/08/2013

5.0 / 5.0
2013-04-18

I researched local counsel online, and noticed Ron had a very satisfied clientele rating. I met with him, and he assured me that he would fight to the best of his ability for my case. He was absolutely true to his word, and I would recommend him to anyone in need of legal help.

— Client 04/18/2013

5.0 / 5.0
2013-04-26

ron yarwood is the most amazing attorney ive ever seen I love him he helped me out sooooo much with my case deff. recommend him to anyone whom is experiencing a very difficult case....

— Client 04/26/2013

5.0 / 5.0
2014-08-21

Omg..where to start first off I was completely shocked when I called and he answered ! Usually you get a secretary he was in a meeting said he would call be in 30 minuets and ...He did ! He let me pick the day and time I came in which was awesome .....I was facing aggravated burglary felony 1......not only did he get it dropped to a M4 but he told me we were even and I didn't owe him anymore money which was $3,000 he gave me advice over the phone before I retained him and also gave me his cell phone number. ...This man is amazing I have never met such an awesome person and he not only saved me from 3-11 years he made sure I was able to keep my license . He wasn't like any other lawyer I met when I called with questions my phone calls were returned immediately! I wouldn't recommend anyone else Ronald yarwood is an angel in disguise and I found him on avvo..Every review I read he lived up to and beyond words cannot express how great full I am for him . If you don't believe me Google my name I made the news 4 times the local paper and hard times and this man saved the day

— Client 08/21/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2015-05-29

Ron was referred by a friend and it was the best referral we could of gotten. He worked extremely hard and can take the worse situations and make them into something little. We had 3 felonies facing us but he turned it into 1 yr probation. He was worth every penny. He also took on extra things that came up and didn't think twice about helping us. Truely listen to his instructions and be patient and it will workout. He looks at all angles thinks outside the box. He will do whatever he can to represent you! What a blessing he was in our lives.

— Client 05/29/2015

5.0 / 5.0
2015-10-29

I hired Ron for a case I had. I have an extensive background. He got me exactly what I asked him for. Answers every phone call. Rated a top trial attorney, a top d.u.I Attorney. I would use him again and I recommend anyone else to do the same. He is the best attorney I have ever had. Thank you Ron

— Client 10/29/2015

5.0 / 5.0
2016-04-15

I hired Ron based on the advice of a friend. I have no knowledge of court and finding lawyers etc. I called and he answered himself and was very cordial. I met him and his associate Ed and felt very good when I left. He helped and coached me every step of the way down to what to wear. On the day of court, he was the first one there and inside the court room it was all business. He won my case very convincingly. I recommend ron highly!!!

— Client 04/15/2016

5.0 / 5.0
2016-09-06

In December, 2016, my daughter made a mistake. She associated with the wrong person, and ended up accused of felonious assault and theft. She was incarcerated, and I began making phone calls. I found the number of Atty. Rhys Cartwright-Jones in the phone book and called his office. He arranged to see me that same afternoon, and agreed to defend my daughter. He also introduced me to his associate, Atty. Ron Yarwood, and the two of them handled my daughter's defense. From the beginning, Atty. Yarwood provided comprehensive information about the situation my daughter was in, as well as thoughtful reasoning and advice about how we should proceed. In my several conversations with Atty. Yarwood, I always felt that he had a strong mastery of the situation, and an excellent understanding of the strengths and weaknesses of my daughter's position. He and Atty. Jones let us know that they had no fear of going to trial if my daughter's defense demanded it; but, in the end, they were able to negotiate her sentence down to two misdemeanors, and her punishment down to a year's probation. Throughout all of this, Atty. Yarwood was available to answer all of our questions. He always returned calls and emails within 24 hours. He was very firm with my daughter, letting her know just how serious her situation was, but was simultaneously extremely supportive. I felt we were in very capable hands. In the end, my daughter and I were very happy with her attorneys' counsel. I fear that with a less competent team, her outcome could have been much worse, and I am very grateful to Atty. Yarwood for his time, concern, and expertise.

— Client 09/06/2016

5.0 / 5.0
2017-06-02

Mr. Yarwood was confident and professional in working to have my felony indictment and extremely large restitution request reduced to a misdemeanor and money halved. I was allowed to continue on with my life as usual while he worked behind the scenes to protect my future from being tarnished by a felony.

— Client 06/02/2017

5.0 / 5.0
2017-06-22

Ron is great , really saved me i called several lawyers and nobody wanted to work with me. Ron gave me a set rate answered all my questions, actually listened when i called with concerns and when he walked into the court room with me i knew i was going to be ok. I was facing jail time for multiple speeding tickets he got it dropped down to no points and a small fine! Wow is all i can say, Thank you so much Mr. Yarwood! Strongly recommend

— Client 06/22/2017

5.0 / 5.0
2017-09-22

This is long over due! While traveling for work I made a poor decision and ended up with a DWI in Ohio. I live in PA about 6 hours away. I called on a Saturday morning to find my lawyer and Ron was the only one who answered. From the jump he was honest and forth coming with me that I did not have a strong case but he would work with and for me to help me through the process. I had received a lvl 2 DWI and did nothing right at the time of my arrest. I feared for my new job and my future. Ron did his best to calm me down and keep me sane. After my first court appearance we talked for an hours or so and came up with a plan. He also helped me put everything in perspective with that conversation. My next court appearance I drive 6 hours for a 9 am time slot hitting snow along the way. I decided during the drive that I just wanted this over and behind me. So I spoke to Mr. Yarwood and told him I just wanted this to be over. He stated he had a deal but it was not probably what I wanted. He then looked me in the eye and said "Let me work for you! You already paid me!". That was the single greatest advice I have received in a while. I agreed and 2 court appearances later with a weekend course behind me I walked away with essentially a traffic ticket and no DWI on my record. No probation, loss of license or anything. I had to give the man a hug when it was over. I am not worried about losing my job now or switching jobs etc. I felt like I had my life back and I owe it all to him. I am so glad he answered his phone and gave me the advice to let him work for me. Can not recommend him enough!

— Client 09/22/2017

1.0 / 5.0
2017-11-30

After researching reading the positive reviews about his practice, I hired Attorney Yarwood to represent me on a case me by the Poland police dept. I thought I had done my homework and hired an outstanding Attorney who would do a good job but based on his representation, I now doubt the credibility and accuracy of the reviews on this site. I was disappointed in his counsel and believed that the Judge who presided over the case would have dismissed it if Attorney Yarwood would simply requested a dismissal. Judge Christian stated that it was the worst overcharge that she had seen since being on the bench. After charging $9000.00 for this case, the Judge appeared to be our only advocate while Attorney Yarwood collected a hefty paycheck.

— Client 11/30/2017

5.0 / 5.0
2017-12-04

From the first phone call to Ron I knew he was my guy. He worked very hard for me got everything done behind the scenes. Polite Person, very skilled, Takes care of business with a Headstrong Attitude. He'll even play Rocky Top for ya, If that's what your into. Depending on Whatever you've been Accused of, you may never even see court thanks to this man. Thank You Ron.. Duck Season Awaits

— Client 12/04/2017

5.0 / 5.0
2017-12-11

Over the years, Ron has represented me on several traffic offenses and a civil matter. He is a consummate professional who is excellent at his craft. He knows the law and gives great representation and counsel. He also represented my son on a Traffic and a serious Juvenile Court Issue. He was able to get diversion for the Traffic and the other issues completely dropped. His firm, DeGenova and Yarwood represented me in a divorce and custody issue. I came away from that very satisfied. They worked to find an equitable settlement and handled my custody case with respect and professionalism. If you need a lawyer in the Northeast Ohio area, Ron and his team are the very best!!

— Client 12/11/2017

5.0 / 5.0
2017-12-13

I called Mr. yarwood on a saturday at 6pm, and he agreed to meet me on a sunday morning when most others likely would not have. He charges a reasonable fee and I can safely say I got more than my money’s worth. Mr yarwood took his time to walk with me to the courthouse before every meeting and he truly went above and beyond when it came to negotiating my case with the prosecution. He made the best out of a bad situation for me.

— Client 12/13/2017

5.0 / 5.0
2018-01-09

Mr. Yardwood was nothing but a wonderful professional and acted as if he knew me for years, he was very easy to work with and well worth the cost. He took the worry right out of the process. I was really glad to have him on my side and would suggest him for you. If you have any questions about him that you want me to answer feel free to call me. Thank you Mr. Yarwood again.

— Client 01/09/2018

5.0 / 5.0
2018-01-29

I'm in the furniture business and travel for a living so a clean driving record is important to me. I have a very good driving record (almost 40 yrs). I was exiting the Shops at Boardman Park on a Friday night during a very bad snowstorm. There was a long line a cars entering 224 and I was unable to stop (sliding on the hill into the intersection) The light turned red as I was already in the intersection. A State Trooper pulled me over and seemed quite agitated and could care less about the road conditions and my defense. He proceeded to write me a red light citation which as you know comes with a 2 points moving violation. I found Atty. Yarwood and contacted his office. He called me immediately and I explained to him what happened. He put me at ease and said he can take care of it. My main concern was my travel and responsibilities outside of the area. I was worried about having to be in court but he said he would do everything in his power to represent me in my absence, and that's exactly what he did. During the time that I first contacted him and all through the waiting, he was just a text / phone call away. I really appreciate him keeping me calm through this. Even though it was only a red light, he had to work and negotiate a deal. He got it reduced to no points and a small fine! Highly recommended. Thanks for everything Ron! Tom in Boardman

— Client 01/29/2018

5.0 / 5.0
2018-04-11

I was facing a OVI (First Offense) and a felony Improper Handling of a Firearm in a Motor Vehicle. I made a very poor decision one night and it would have ruined my entire life. I called the number for Degenova & Yarwood and Ron Yarwood was the one I spoke with. He was with me at court the very next morning. He explained how serious the situation I was in was and was extremely professional and friendly. I didn't think he was going to be able to do anything at all and I was offered a plea deal that would have still cost me my job. Ultimately, I was given a 3 day course, 2 days in jail and 2 years probation. The felony was reduced down to an M1 misdemeanor. My absolute worst fears were over and now I can continue on with my life. I can't thank him enough. I would highly recommend hiring this guy.

— Client 04/11/2018

5.0 / 5.0
2018-10-21

Mr. Ronald Yarwood exceeded every expectation I had as my defense attorney for a DUI. He made me feel comfortable and was easy to share my personal information with. He always made himself personally available for any questions and advice. I felt as though he was truly interested in solving my problem. His fees for service are far less than what he deserves. I would highly recommend him for your needs.

— Client 10/21/2018

5.0 / 5.0
2018-11-01

I had Ron for an assault charge and he was able to get it down to a menacing with some probation and fines at my pre trial which im happy with. He was willing to go further with it but i just wanted it to be done. Super nice guy and fought for me to get it down. Highly recommended.

— Client 11/01/2018

5.0 / 5.0
2019-03-29

Would recommend to any family or friends i know. I was hoping he would be able to get my charge reduced, but he was able to get the major one dismissed completely. Based on your circumstances, i can say he will fight for your best possible outcome. You can reach him and he will respond in a timely manner. Very friendly and is very knowledgeable in the field of law. He has a lot of experience. I can't say anything negative.

— Client 03/29/2019

5.0 / 5.0
2019-04-06

I found Ron through Avvo. He's the lawyer you want. He answers the phone personally, and calls back promptly. He tells it like it is and won't leave you wondering whats going on. Compared to the penalties I was looking at before he worked his magic his fee basically paid for itself.

— Client 04/06/2019

5.0 / 5.0
2020-07-06

Attorney Yarwood was a pleasure to work with. He was quick to respond via text message, email, or phone call. He was always through in his explanations and a genuinely nice person. He was able to reduce my penalties significantly and for that I would hire him for any needs moving forward for legal representation. Although, I hope I never have to!

— Client 07/06/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2015-04-01

Counselor Czopur was extremely helpful to me when I needed help with an Ohio traffic ticket in a court five hours away from my home. I was in the middle of an 9 hour drive from the hospital at which I am an attending, to where my family was gathering for Thanksgiving. On the Ohio turnpike, a massive snow squall suddenly dropped an inch of wet sloppy snow in about five seconds. Fortunately, I was able to slow gently - but still ended up sliding into a ditch. The highway patrol was very helpful, but still issued me a 1 point ticket for sliding into the ditch (apparently that's standard Ohio turnkpike practice). The officer explained that I could contest the ticket, and was told that, given the circumstances largely out of my control, that it would be straighforward to do so. The problem is the court that corresponded to where I slid into the ditch, was five hours away from where I was living. So making a ten-hour round trip to come to court repeatedly, to go through the motions of contesting the ticket, was not at all practical. Instead, I looked up (on this website!) traffic lawyers, and called the office of DeGenova & Yarwood as the nearest high-rated lawyer. Counselor Yarwood actually picked up the phone personally and was very helpful, and referred me to Counselor Czopur. Counselor Czopur was extremely helpful the entire way through, kept me completely updated each step of the way, was extremely polite, respectful, and informative, and took care of the whole thing for me, including multiple court visits over two months, for one flat rate, successfully reducing the one point ticket to a no-point, non-moving violation fine. It was annoying to get a traffic ticket for sliding into a ditch because of a sudden snow squall, but I got excellent help taking care of this annoyance. I would fully recommend Counselor Czopur. Thank you very much, Counselor!

— Client 04/01/2015

5.0 / 5.0
2017-05-27

I'd hire him again. Not only did he provide exceptional service and guidance but he made me feel at ease for my case. He will tell you straight up what to expect without sugar coating it. He truly went above and beyond for me and I am thankful for the outcome as well as to have had him as one of my professors.

— Client 05/27/2017